Countries with Unusual and Unique Capitals

There are more than 200 countries in the world. Let’s learn more about the capitals of this long list of nations of the world.

South Africa – Country with 3 Capitals

1.  Bloemfontein – is the judicial capital of South Africa

2. Cape Town – is the legislative capital of South Africa

3. Pretoria – is the executive (administrative) and de facto national capital of South Africa.

Countries with 2 Capitals

Canary Island

1. Las Palmas de Gran Canaria also known as just Las Palmas is one of the two capitals of Canary Island.

2. Santa Cruz de Tenerife or commonly known as Santa Cruz is the other capital of Canary Island.

Cote d’Ivoire

1. Abidjan is the economic capital of Cote d’Ivoire

2. District of Yamoussoukro is the official capital city of Cote d’Ivoire


1. Plymouth was the capital as well as the only port of entry to Montserrat, an overseas territory of the UK

2. Brades is the de facto capital of Montserrat since 1998.

American Samoa

1. Fagatogo is the capital of American Samoa due to the fact that it is listed in its Constitution as the official seat of government.

2. Pago Pago is the capital town of American Samoa.

Additional tidbits:

1. Mauritania

Nouakchott is the administrative and economic center of Mauritania.

2. Transnistria

Tiraspol is the capital and administrative center of the de facto independent Pridnesttrovian Moldavian Republic or Transnistria.

3. Christmas Island

Flying Fish Cove is the capital of Christmas Island.

4. Nauru

Yaren is the de facto capital of Nauru. It is the only country with no official capital.

5. Macau

As semi-autonomous city-state, Macau doesn’t have a capital; it is its own capital.

6. Burma

Rangoon is no longer the capital of Burma or Myanmar. Naypyidaw also spelled Nay Pyi Taw; is the capital of Burma.

7. Palestine

Ramallahcurrently serves as the administrative capital of the Palestinian National Authority.

8. Moldova

Chişinău, formerly known as Kishinev, is the capital of Moldova. The proportion of green spaces in the city is one of the highest among major European cities.

9. Mayotte

Mamoudzou is the capita of the French overseas collectivity of Mayotte. It is an island located in the Mozambique Channel, between northern Mozambique and northern Madagascar. Dzaoudzi is the former capital of Mayotte.

Countries with Identical Capitals

1. Singapore

2. Vatican City

3. Monaco

4. Panama – Panama City

5. Kuwait – Kuwait City

6. Djibouti – Djibouti City

7. Luxembourg– Luxembourg City

8. San Marino – San Marino City

9. Gibraltar – Gibraltar

10. Guatemala – Guatemala City

11. Mexico – Mexico City

Name of Nations Whose Capital Is Almost the Same

1. Andorra- Andorra la Vella

2. Guinea-Bissau – Bissau

3. Algeria – Algiers

4. El Salvador – San Salvador

5. Brazil – Brasilia

6. Tunisia – Tunis

Longest Capital Names

1. Thailand – Bangkok. Its official name is

Krungthepmahanakornamornratanakosinmahintarayutthayamahadilokphopnopparatrajathaniburiromudomrajaniwesmahasatharnamornphimarnavatarnsathitsakkattiyavisanukamprasit – 163 letters

2. USA – Washington, District of Columbia – 28 letters

3. Sri Lanka – Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte – 23 letters

4. Cote d’Ivoire – District of Yamoussoukro – 22 letters

5. Brunei – Bandar Seri Begawan – 17 letters

See also

Countries with Unique Shapes