Some Interesting Facts About Fifa World Cup

* The world cup football matches are the biggest soccer tournament in the world.
* The first foot ball world cup was held in 1930 in Uruguay, and was won by the host team. They defeated Argentina by 4-2 goals.
* But the Uruguay did not participated in the second world cup to defend their title.
* Uruguay is the only team in the history of the world cup not to defend their title.
* The world cup football matches are the biggest soccer tournament in the world.
* World cup is held for every four years in a different host country.
* Due to world war II, the event was not held in 1942 and 1946.
* In 1930 Uruguay, In 1934 Italy, In 1966 England, In 1974 Germany, In 1978 Argentina, and in 1998 France have won the world cup when they were the host nation. Only exception is Brazil.
* Between 1962 -1996, the world cup was won alternatively by the Europeans and South Americans
* In the year 2006, Star player of Brazil, Ronaldo, became the all-time highest goal scorer in the world cup events.
* India pulled away from the 1950 world cup, because the players were not allowed to play without shoes.
* In terms of generating revenues, the world cup soccer 2010 is expected to be even bigger than 2006 world cup.
* Brazil have won five times the world cup. They won the cup in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and in 2002. In 1950 and 1998 it was runner-up.
* FIFA world cup 2010 is the biggest event ever held in Africa.
* Federation Internationale de Football Association, commonly known as FIFA, is the international governing body of association football.
* FIFA has 208 members association, headquartered in Zurich, Switzerland.
* The football game was played mostly in England before it became officially played.
* 2006 world cup champion Italy is the defending champion.
* Frenchman Lucien Laurent, scored the first goal in the first world cup match held in Uruguay in 1930.
* Roger Milla, Cameroon player is the oldest player to participate in a world cup Match. He was responsible to lead his country in the world cup of Italy 1990.
* South African national football team is called in the name ‘Bafana Bafana’. In isiZulu, it means ‘the boys, the boys’.
* Earlier 200 teams were participated in the qualified matches for the world cup. Among them 31 teams were selected in a cut throat competition. Being the host, south Africa was automatically qualified for the FIFA world cup.