Top Five Cincinnati Reds Pitching Win Leaders

Eppa Rixey: 179 wins

Hall of Fame lefty Eppa Rixey is the Cincinnati Reds’ all-time wins leader. Rixey spent the last 13 years of his 21-year career in Cincinnati, earning a total of 266 wins between Philadelphia and Cincinnati. Rixey was one of the most durable pitchers of all-time, tossing 4,494.2 innings to rank in the top 30 in Major League history. For the Reds, he finished in the top five in ERA four times, posting a career 3.15 mark. He had four 20-win seasons, maxing out at 25 in 1922.

Tony Mullane: 163 wins

Ranking second on the Cincinnati Reds’ all-time wins list, Tony Mullane was a mainstay with the organization in the 19th century. Mullane pitched in Cincinnati from 1886 to 1893, beginning in the era when the team was known as the Red Stockings. In 285 starts, he failed to finish the complete game only 21 times as he tossed 2,599 innings in only eight seasons with the team. In Cincinnati, he had five seasons of more than 20 wins including two of better than 30. For his career as a whole, Mullane, totaled 284 wins in 13 years.

Paul Derringer: 161 wins

Six-time All-Star Paul Derringer ranks third on the list of Cincinnati Reds’ all-time wins leaders. Derringer was a durable pitcher, finishing with more than 200 innings in all ten of his seasons in Cincinnati. He won more than 20 games for three straight seasons from 1938 to 1940 and did so four times overall. Derringer tossed a complete game to win the decisive game seven of the Reds’ 1940 World Series Championship.

Bucky Walters: 160 wins

Though he started out as a position player, Bucky Walters converted to pitching and became one of the Cincinnati Reds’ all-time wins leaders. Walters pitched with the Reds from 1938 to 1948, leading the National League in wins three times. In 1939, he had his most impressive season by leading the NL with 27 wins, a 2.29 ERA, and 319 innings pitched to take home the MVP Award. In the following year, Walters won two games and homered in the World Series to lead the Reds to their second championship.

Dolf Luque: 154 wins

A great Cuban hurler, Dolf Luque ranks fifth among the Cincinnati Reds’ all-time wins leaders. Luque played 20 Major League seasons, spending 12 of them in Cincinnati and pitching his best seasons with the club. He notched double-digit wins for ten straight years from 1919 to 1928. He had his best campaign in 1923; he led the National League with 27 wins and a 1.93 ERA, both of which were good for career highs.